Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics |

Tag as favorite
Physics Strategies
albalks
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2011 4:36:24 AM

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone had any strategies on how to tackle physics questions. I know in the verbal reasoning lectures, we learn how to answer questions. Does anyone know any tricks that can be applied to the physics portion of the MCAT? I find myself spending too much time calculating/solving the problems instead of eliminating answers etc.

Thanks!
matthewward
#2 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 7:28:49 PM

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
Hi Albalks – I’m sorry no one has responded to your post – it must have been missed somehow :s

MCAT Physics is certainly tricky, but mainly because in my experience, students simply put up mental road-blocks by saying “I can’t do physics.” For me personally, I am a biologist, yet forced myself to “love” physics so much during my own MCAT preparation (years ago now) that I ended up teaching it soon after! My advice therefore first and foremost is to have a positive attitude about physics – you can do it! Lol

Second, I worry that you (and other students) may not yet have bought into the idea that MCAT Physics is NOT undergrad physics. In undergrad physics, you were expected to calculate detailed equations and to memorize a huge body of information. Here in MCAT physics, it is quite the opposite – you will never have to calculate huge difficult expressions and you certainly should not be memorizing details since you will always see “something new” on test day!

In lieu of this, I would suggest considering the following points:

-Focus on understanding relationships in equations – if one variable goes up, will the other also go up or go down?